YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011 Grand Finale

Join 101 musicians from over 30 countries who make up the YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011 playing a spectacular Grand Finale concert at Sydney Opera House.The musicians met for a weeklong celebration of music in Sydney culminating in the Grand Finale featuring animated visuals on the interior and exterior projections by Obscura Digital on the iconic sails, all synchronised to the music of the YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011’s performance and conducted by YouTube Symphony Orchestra Artistic Advisor Michael Tilson Thomas.


One thought on “YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011 Grand Finale

  1. 0:02:05 Introduction by MTT

    0:03:20 Hector Berlioz – Roman Carnival – Overture, Op. 9 (featuring Android Jones – digital artist)

    0:13:00 Meet Maria Chiossi – Harp

    0:18:00 Percy Grainger – Arrival on a Platform Humlet from in a Nutshell – Suite

    0:22:20 Johan Sebastian Bach – Toccata in F major for organ (featuring Cameron Carpenter)

    0:30:00 Meet Paulo Calligopoulos – Electric Guitar and violin

    0:32:55 Alberto Ginastera – Danza del trigo (Wheat Dance) and Danza final (Malambo) from the ballet Estancia (conducted by Ilyich Rivas)

    0:42:22 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – ‘Caro’ bell’idol mio’ – Canon in three voices, K562 (featuring the Sydney Children’s Choir and soprano Renee Fleming via video)

    0:45:14 Meet Xiomara Mass – Oboe

    0:48:42 Benjamin Britten – The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra, Op. 34

    1:08:00 William Barton – Kalkadunga (featuring William Barton – Didgeridoo)

    1:13:15 Timothy Constable – Suna

    1:16:36 Meet Roman Riedel – Trombone

    1:18:38 Richard Strauss – Fanfare for the Vienna Philharmonic (featuring Sarah Willis, Horn, Berlin Philharmoniker and conducted by Edwin Outwater)

    1:23:08 *PREMIERE* Mason Bates – Mothership (specially composed for the YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011)

    1:34:34 Meet Su Chang – Guzheng

    1:36:55 Felix Mendelssohn – Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 (Finale) (featuring Stefan Jackiw and conducted by Ilyich Rivas)

    1:44:44 Meet Ozgur Baskin – Violin

    1:46:22 Colin Jacobsen and Siamak Aghaei – Ascending Bird – Suite for string orchestra (featuring Colin Jacobsen, violin, and Richard Tognetti, violin, and Kseniya Simonova – sand artist)

    1:55:35 Meet Stepan Grytsay – Violin

    1:58:00 Igor Stravinsky – The Firebird (Infernal Dance – Berceuse – Finale)

    2:12:50 *ENCORE* Franz Schubert – Rosamunde (featuring Andrew Mariner – clarinet)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s